Short-Term Vacation Rentals

Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation

The Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation's Recommended Safety Measures and Best practices for vacation rentals. Vacation rentals must adhere to Duval County safety measurements and guidelines.


Short-term vacation rentals are privately owned dwelling units that are rented to guests more than three times in a calendar year for periods of less than 30 days or one calendar month, whichever is less, or which is advertised or held out to the public as a place regularly rented to guests as defined by Florida Statutes. Short-term vacation rentals are permitted in zoning districts where residential uses are permitted. Single-family, two-family (duplexes), and townhouse units being used as transient public lodging establishments are required to obtain a Short-Term Vacation Rental Certificate.

Homestead Exemption

In accordance with ordinance no. 2019-8118, all existing short-term vacation rentals that require a certificate are required to make an application to the City of Jacksonville Beach. Applications can be submitted to the planning and development department at city hall, located at 11 3rd street north.

An owner-occupied dwelling unit renting 50% or less of the unit is not subject to the short-term vacation rental regulations. Single-family, two-family, or townhouse dwellings subject to deed restrictions and covenants of a homeowners association, condominium units, multiple-family apartments, and timeshare projects also are not subject to the short-term vacation rental regulations. Although not subject to local rental regulations, registration with county and state taxing authorities may still be required.

Read more about the Homestead Exemption and how a short-term rental may affect your ability to qualify for the exemption.

Obtain a Short-Term Vacation Rental Certificate

If you are a property owner or a licensed agent for a property management company, you must apply for a short-term vacation rental certificate for every property being used as a short-term vacation rental. In order for your application to be processed, you must provide the following documentation with your application:

Short-Term Vacation Rental Unit Property Compliance Inspection

An inspection of a short-term vacation rental unit is required prior to the initial issuance of and/or modifications to a Short-Term Vacation Rental Registration Certificate. In accordance with Ordinance Number 2019-8118, an inspection of the rental unit will be conducted by the Fire Marshal by appointment only. If violations are found, all violations must be corrected and the unit must be re-inspected prior to issuance of the registration certificate.

The inspection shall be requested by the Responsible Party. Failure to provide the Fire Marshal access at the scheduled time will result in a "no show" fee of $100.

Incomplete applications will not be accepted.

The fee for initial and annual registration for each property is $150. The annual fee for a Local Business Tax Receipt is $79.20 for each property. The fees for County and State licenses and certificates can be found on their websites.

All Short-Term Vacation Rental Registration Certificate holders must apply annually for a renewal of their Certificate by October 1st of each calendar year.

Short-Term Vacation Rental Nuisance Complaints

To report a potential code violation please submit an online request for service. For questions pertaining to short-term vacation rental certificates, please email us. Please allow 5 to 7 business days for a response.

Helpful Documents